I watch the sunrise

This morning i’ve been up since 5am … let me rephrase … i’ve been awake since 5am, i’m still not actually “up”.

I don’t know what it is about my body or mind that won’t let me get more than 8 hours sleep at one time. ‘Sleeping in’ isn’t really something i’ve ever been able to do, so what does one do then, awake so early with house full of sleeping people???

One good thing, i thought, about being up so early, is being able to watch the sunrise. Nothing speaks louder to me of God than nature, and particularly the solar system. Then i was reminded of my favorite old Catholic hymn ‘Close to me’. The lyrics are so beautiful and encouraging i thought i’d share them, some of you (church goers) may remember it.

I watch the sunrise lighting the sky,
Casting its shadows near.
And on this morning bright though it be,
I feel those shadows near me.

But you are always close to me
Following all my ways.
May I be always close to you
Following all your ways, Lord.

I watch the sunlight shine through the clouds,
Warming the earth below.
And at the mid-day, life seems to say:
I feel your brightness near me.
For you are always . . .

I watch the sunset fading away,
Lighting the clouds with sleep.
And as the evening closes its eyes,
I feel your presence near me.
For you are always . . .

I watch the moonlight guarding the night,
Waiting till morning comes.
The air is silent, earth is at rest
Only your peace is near me.

One response to “I watch the sunrise

  1. candice

    One of my favorite hymns!!! Beautiful… I was also up at 5am… so I baked cookies xxx

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 730 other followers

