Dear New York

Tomorrow marks the 10th anniversary of the horrific attacks on the Twin Towers. I’ve been watching the documentaries on the History Channel this whole week, and sobbing my heart out for the city that i love. I left a big chunk of my heart in New York, and there’s not a day that goes by that i don’t think of the wonderful time i spent  there. Merely two years after 9/11  I saw Ground Zero, the fenced off area still overflowing with flowers, pictures and letters to loved ones who had passed away. I find it hard to describe the feeling i got when i stood there. I walked those streets where people were running for their lives two years earlier. Strange to think that for me, they’re  wonderful reminders of  a dream come true, but for many others even ten years later, painful reminders of their worst nightmare.

I lived in the village of Sag Harbor, in the heart of Hamptons in Long Island, only 1h30 away from the city by bus. Not many people visit Long Island when they’re in New York, so to make myself feel better, i thought i’d dedicate this post to my beloved state, and the most amazing part of New York and the Hamptons, Sag Harbor.

Sag Harbor, Long Island, New York

Main Street lined with boutiques, restaurants and privately owned stores.

 

Sag Harbor Bay and long wharf

 

The Hampton Jitney that used to take me to Manhattan

 

Mashashimuet Park where i'd take the kids to play

I wish i had a scanner to scan in some more pics. But at least this gives a good feel for the place that stole my heart, and that i long for every day ❤

I’ll always love you New York.

One response to “Dear New York

  1. jenn

    I so completely know the feeling!! I feel in a lot of ways thAt I’m as much a new yorker as I am anything else 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 730 other followers

